(785) 234-2644

719 S. Kansas Ave. Ste. 100, Topeka, KS 66603

Our Team

Leadership & Committees


Ashley Gilfillan

Ashley Gilfillan

President of Downtown Topeka Inc. & Director of River Strategies

Jessy Moreno

Jessy Moreno

Manager of Downtown Topeka Inc. & Director of River Strategies

Paul Cervantez

Paul Cervantez

District Maintenance Specialist

Janice Purney

Janice Purney

Executive Assistant


Executive Committee
The Executive Committee shall be composed of the officers of DTI. When the Board is not in session, the Executive Committee shall have the power to act on routine, perfunctory matters, respond in a timely manner to matters which require immediate action (e.g. respond to news stories) and to make recommendations for strategic actions and policy decisions for Board consideration.
Parking Committee
The Parking Committee works with the City of Topeka Parking Department to recommend parking policies that are most beneficial to the merchants and residents of downtown Topeka.
Merchants Committee
The Merchants Committee meets with businesses and residents of downtown to discuss downtown needs, events and promotional opportunities.
Board Development & Nominating Committee
The Board Development & Nominating Committee is responsible for recommending to the Board candidates to serve as Directors on the DTI Board, nominating to the Board candidates to serve as the officers of DTI and for other duties properly assigned to the committee by the Board.
Grants Committee
The Grants Committee accepts and reviews applications for grants from the Downtown Topeka Redevelopment Incentive Program. It is a program funded by the City of Topeka to encourage residential and commercial improvements of buildings for future use in the Capital City Business Improvement District.

Board Members

Scott Gales, Chair
Architect One
Tim Bisel
Capital Journal

Garry Cushinberry
Corefirst Bank & Trust

Larry Gawronski
Topeka Performing Arts

Karen Hiller
Topeka City Council

MacKenzi Mondesir
US Bank

Robert Raff

Ken Scott, Chair-Elect/Treasurer
Capitol Federal

Matt Bult
Westar Energy

Shelby Edwards
Washburn University

Michael Griffin
Azura Credit Union

Matt Koupal

Dr. Michael Morrison
Topeka Public Schools

Nicki Salazar
Envista Credit Union

Capt. Colleen Stuart
Topeka Police Dept.

Lisa Stubbs, Past-Chair
Security Benefit

Frank Burnam
Kansas Dept. of

Tony Emerson
Topeka City Council

Eric Grospitch
Washburn University

Abby Lear
Blue Cross Blue Shield
of Kansas

Tracey O’Rourke
Stormont Vail Health

Megan Schwerdt Williams
Schwerdt Contract Interiors

Alicia VanWalleghen
Leaping Llamas

Caleb Asher
Sprout Creative

Jeff Clinger
TFirst United Methodist

Lindsay Freeman
Kansas Gas Service

Thad Halstead
Advisors Excel

Lane McNeil
Hill’s Pet Nutrition

Clint Patty
Clayton Wealth Partners

Jennifer Sourk
Midwest Health

Skip to content